Mozart: Mass in c minor (The ‘Great’)

Saturday 28th March 2015 – 7.30pm – New Hall, Winchester College


Mass in C Minor K 427 

Mary Bevan – Soprano 1
Kitty Whately – Soprano 2
Daniel Auchincloss – Tenor
Božidar Smiljanić – Bass


Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola K 364

Dale Chambers – Viola
Brian Howells – Violin
Winchester Music Club Choir
Winchester Music Club Orchestra

Nicholas Wilks – conductor


Winchester Music Club’s spring concert will be its first to be held in the magnificently restored New Hall, Winchester College. The Mozart double bill presents two of his masterpieces; the Mass in C minor, K427 and the Sinfonia Concertante, K364.

The Mass in C Minor, composed in 1738, is set on a grand scale with double chorus and a large orchestra. There are passages both of grand solemnity and of delicate lyricism, with the clear influence of Haydn showing in passages where soloists and choir alternate.

The promising young Soprano soloists are Mary Bevan, who has sung with the ENO (English National Opera) and the ROH (Royal Opera House) and Kitty Whately, a holder of the BBC New Generation Artists Award. Kitty has also sung with the ENO. Daniel Auchincloss (Tenor) has sung with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and in St John’s Smith Square. He has a growing reputation in Europe. Bass Božidar Smiljanić has sung at Glyndebourne and is becoming increasingly recognised for his Bach interpretations.

The Sinfonia Concertante dates from 1779 and combines the form of both symphony and concerto. Mozart played both violin and viola; this is demonstrated very clearly in the spirited, but also sublime, writing for both instruments.

To book tickets to this event please visit Winchester Music Club’s website.